The mission of Brooke County Health Department is to enhance the health of area residents through providing effective public health services for the prevention and control of disease. This mission is accomplished through conducting community needs assessments and providing ongoing education, environmental and disease surveillance, and preparedness to manage public health threats.

Board of Health

John Cunningham,Chair                    Wellsburg             Democrat          1/01/2020-12/31/2025
Joe Ierise, Co Chair                              Follansbee            Democrat         1/01/2022-12/31/2027
Carrie Estrada                                     Weirton              Republican          3/02/2022-12/31/2028
Mary Blum                                          Follansbee           Republican          1/01/2023-12/31/2028
Jennifer Cross                                     Wellsburg            Independent      1/01/2024-12/31/2029


NameTitleOffice PhoneCell PhoneEmail
Michael BolenAdministration / Threat Preparedness(304) 737-3665[email protected]
April EltringhamAdministrative Assistant/Office Manager/Community Wellness Representative(304) 737-3665[email protected]
Sandy RogersNursing / Health Promotion & Education(304) 737-3665[email protected]
Mark HawkinsEnvironmental(304) 737-3665[email protected]

Hours of Operation

Monday through Friday 8:30 A.M. to 4:30 P.M.

Closed for the following holidays:

  • New Years Day
  • Martin Luther King Jr. Day
  • President’s Day
  • Memorial Day
  • West Virginia Day
  • Independence Day
  • Labor Day
  • Columbus Day
  • Veteran’s Day
  • Thanksgiving Day
  • The day after Thanksgiving
  • Christmas Eve (1/2 day)
  • Christmas Day
  • New Year’s Eve (1/2 day)

Community Partners

The Brooke County Health Department works with a wide variety of Community Partners to enhance services and better our relationship within the community.

Community partners and advisory committee

  • Brooke County Commission
  • PATCH (Planned Approach to Community Health)
  • West Virginia Health Promotion Specialists and Prevention Resource Center
  • Substance Abuse Prevention Center
  • SHEC (State Health Education Committee)
  • Bethany College
  • Brooke County Law and Emergency Management
  • Brooke County Senior Citizens
  • Brooke County Board of Education and Schools
  • Brooke County Office of Emergency Management
  • West Virginia Tobacco Coalition
  • WVU Extension Services
  • Aids Task Force of the Upper Ohio Valley
  • West Virginia Division of Health and Human Resources
  • Healthways Behavioral Medicine of Weirton
  • Weirton Medical Center Foundation
  • Family Resource Network
  • WV Rural Healthcare Authority
  • Family Care Center of Weirton
  • Change, Inc
  • Hancock County Health Department
  • Ohio County Health Department
  • Marshall County Health Department
  • Wetzel — Tyler County Health Department